Coz I Ate My Weight Last Week at Jang Ga Nae

Last Friday was definitely one for the books. Aside from spending time with my favourite people, I also got to discover a damn good Korean restaurant that’s near from where I live, so YAY! Actually, the initial plan was to go to Pasig, get our SA details, then go to Ippudo and have some ramen. However, Khris changed his mind and asked us if we want to eat at Jade Garden instead for their Pecking Duck. Of course, Raqs and I agreed because who wouldn’t wanna pig-out on a Friday, right? But after a series of stoplights, Khris changed his mind again, and asked us if we want to try this secret Korean restaurant–it has been their family’s secret for years, I guess…so of course, who wouldn’t wanna try a good Korean fest on a Friday, right? HAHA! Fast forward to arriving at Jang Ga Nae, like thank God coz it was super hot inside Khris’ humble red beetle, the staff greeted us with their usual “Annyeong-haseyos”; I looked around the place and it reminded me a bit about Ye Dang and I brushed it off immediately because 1) I didn’t like it at Ye Dang, and 2) the place reminds me of my ex. HAHA! Still, despite my ex bringing me to Ye Dang, we actually found it a bit overhyped, so see, bitterness aside, Ye Dang is well, just Ye Dang–no fireworks, no ‘I-have-to-eat-there-again’ rage, no nothing. I actually judge a Korean restaurant based on the following: 1) Their food (of course!) which includes, but not limited to, menu design, actual menu items–this should include unlimited appetisers. Haha! 2) Cutleries (metal chopsticks, please!) 3) Their locals (because I think the only way to judge if a Korean restaurant is good is to see how many Koreans are actually dining in the place. You see, Koreans will ALWAYS patronise their own.) So yeah, at Jang Ga Nae, everything was check, check, check! Haha! Look at those appetisers (see photo below) and man, it includes Korean pancakes/pizza (not in the photo). Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Fun fact: I grew up eating Korean pancakes because our neighbours were all Koreans from the town I grew up with. Ms. Ha would often give us Korean pancakes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Look at how happy Khris is with all his appetisers! Oh, they’re ‘unlimited’ too which means you get to have free refills any given time! Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Fun Fact: Khris’ family is one of the prominent ones here in Manila. His neighbours are politicians, famous actors, and billionaires. No, I’m just shitting with you. It’s actually an old joke amongst the three of us. HAHA! Well, Khris was our Sous Chef last restaurant simulation and he’s one of my closest in class. 🙂 He actually did all the ordering so… Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Very good Bibimbap only that it wasn’t served on a hot stone. I’d like to assume that they ran out of it because it was already lunch when we got there and the place was booked like craaaay! Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset I don’t know what it’s called but it’s the one you wrap in lettuce. The meat was a bit well done so I really didn’t enjoy it. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Of course, a korean fest wouldn’t be complete without a JapChae! Ms. Ho, Mr. Moon’s wife (one of my dad’s best friends) told us that they often call it celebration noodles because of all the mise en place the dish needs. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset This one’s my favourite by far! Korean Beef Stew, you will always have my heart, forever! But Jang Ga Nae, wow, this has been the best beef stew I’ve had in years so wow! The meat is tender, very, very tender, as in sorry-teeth-but-you-don’t-have-to-bite-and-grind tender. The sauce also reminded us of the demi glace that we made during simulation. It was as rich, tasty, and has the right amount of sweetness–it actually is very, very comforting. (Gooosh, I want one like right now.) So here’s the aftermath: Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset We actually saved the best for last so that we can savour every bit of it! JangGaNae, you have exceeded my expectations. Really. And I promise to go back and reunite with you as soon as I can! I hope to bring my other favourite people too! (Oh by the way, here’s a photo of me with Raqs!) IMG_9942 Thank you Raqs and Khris, my SA partners, for that pig-out Friday. Next time na emo posts about our threesome. Let it be only about food for now! Haha! #damingalam

Leave a comment